contacts header

Guidlines for making contact in a cause

Concise, well thought out personal letters are one of the most effective ways Americans have of influencing decision-makers. The best letters are courteous, to the point, and include specific supporting examples.

DO

  • Keep it Simple - One page is best
  • Be factual not emotional.
  • Be courteous and respectful not "gushing."
  • Clearly and simply state the purpose of your letter.
  • Say who you are. Anonymous letters go nowhere.
  • Use specific examples or evidence to support your position.
  • State what it is you want done or recommend a course of action.
  • Thank the person for taking the time to read your letter.
DON’T
  • Use vulgarity, profanity, or threats. The first two are just plain rude and the third one can get you a visit from the police. Simply stated, don't let your passion get in the way of making your point.
  • Fail to include your name and address, even in email letters.
  • Demand a response.

contacts slice St. Louis City/County | Print | Television | Radio

St. Louis Zoo

One Government Drive
St. Louis, MO 63110
Phone: 314-781-0900  |  Toll-Free: 800-966-8877   Elephant House Extension: 257
Dr. Jeffrey Bonner, President: jbonner@stlzoo.org
Dr. Boever, Director : boever@stlzoo.org
Martha Fischer, Curator of Elephants: fischerm@stlzoo.org
Phone Extension: 201

Metropolitan Zoological Park & Museum District

7733 Forsythe, Suite 550
St. Louis, MO 63105
J. Patrick Dougherty, Executive Director
Phone: 314-862-4222  | Fax: 314-862-4427 &nbsp
E-mail: metzoodist@sbcglobal.net

St. Louis City

Mayor Francis Slay
St Louis City Hall
Mayor's Office, Room 200
1200 Market Street
St. Louis, MO 63103
Phone: 314-622-3201
Fax: 314-622-4061
E-mail: slayf@stlouiscity.com

St. Louis County

County Executive Charlie A. Dooley
41 South Central Avenue
Clayton, MO 63105
Phone: 314-615-7016
Fax: 314-615-3727
E-mail: cdooley@stlouisco.com

St. Louis Media - Print

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
900 North Tucker Boulevard
St. Louis MO 63101
Letters to the Editor
Fax: 314-340-3139
E-mail: letters@post-dispatch.com
City Desk - Metro Desk   (Present your story ideas here)
Phone:  314-340-8222
E-mail: metro@post-dispatch.com
Sylvester Brown, Columnist
Phone:  314-340-8374
E-mail: sylvesterbrown@post-dispatch.com

 

Riverfront Times
6358 Delmar Boulevard, Suite 200
St. Louis MO 63130-4719
Phone: 314-754-5966
Fax: 314-754-5955
Tom Finkel, Editor
E-mail: tom.finkel@riverfronttimes.com

St. Louis Media - TV

KMOV-TV, CBS/4
One Memorial Drive
St. Louis MO  63102
Phone: 314-621-4444
Fax: 314-621-4775
General news and stories
E-mail: newstips@kmov.com
Kent Ehrhardt, Meteorologist
ALSO:  Co-host "At The Zoo" a 30-minute program showcasing the St. Louis Zoo
E-mail: weather@kmov.com

KSDK-TV, NBC/5
1000 Market Street
St. Louis MO 63101
Phone: 314-421-5055
Fax: 314-444-5164
Dave Keiser, Assignment Editor
E-mail: newstips@ksdk.com
Ed Rich, Assignment Manager
E-mail: erich@ksdk.gannett.com

KTVI-TV, FOX/2
5915 Berthold Avenue
St. Louis MO 63110
Phone: 314-647-2222
Fax: 314-647-8960
Joe Lamie, Assignment Manager
E-mail:  joelamie@fox2ktvi.com
Chris Regnier, Reporter
E-mail: chrisregnier@fox2ktvi.com

KPLR-TV, WB/11
2250 Ball Drive
St. Louis MO  63146
Phone: 314-447-1111
Fax: 314-447-6433
General news information
E-mail: KPLRNews@tribune.com

St. Louis Media - Radio

Metro Networks  
(This service is in competition with Associated Press. It compiles info to send to news broadcast subscribers.)
8251 Maryland, Suite 108
St. Louis MO 63105
Phone: 314-862-5267
Fax: 314-862-9865
Jill Endraske, News Bureau Chief 
E-mail: jill_endraske@metronetworks.com

 

KMOX-AM 1120 (CBS)
One South Memorial Drive
St. Louis MO 63102
Phone: 314-621-2345 
Fax: 314-588-1234
Mr. Kelly Hatmaker, Assignment Editor
E-mail: kmoxnews@kmox.com

WGNU-AM 920
265 Union Boulevard, Suite 1315
St. Louis MO 63108-1262
Phone: 314-454-0400  (St. Louis metro area)
Phone: 1-877-920-WGNU  (toll-free)
Charles Greer, Programming/News
E-mail: cgeer@wgnu.net

KWMU-FM 90.7(NPR)
One University Drive
St. Louis MO 63121
Phone: 314-516-5968
Fax: 314-516-6397
E-mail: news@kwmu.org

KFTK-FM 97.1
800 St Louis Union Station
The Powerhouse
St. Louis MO 63103
Phone: 314-231-9710  (St. Louis metro area)
Phone: 1-866-455-9797  (toll free)
Fax: 314-621-3000
Jeff Allen, Program Director
E-mail: jaallen@stl.emmis.com